The abstract is the shortest part of your thesis and the most likely to be sent back. Graduate offices check it because it is mechanically verifiable: a reviewer counts the words, looks for a table that should not be there, and confirms the second-language version exists. This page collects the published abstract limits at 53 Canadian universities, verified against official documents, with a link to the source for every row.


Short answer

Most Canadian universities converge on 150 words for a master’s abstract and 350 words for a doctoral one. That pair is the reference point everyone quotes, and it is real: it comes from the deposit requirements of Library and Archives Canada, which every Canadian thesis eventually reaches.

But “most” is doing a lot of work in that sentence. Of the 53 institutions in the table below, 10 apply exactly 150 / 350: University of Toronto, Western, Toronto Metropolitan, Carleton, Guelph, York, Ontario Tech, Laurentian, Trent and Simon Fraser. All but Simon Fraser are in Ontario.

Everyone else diverges. Some use a single cap at both levels (Queen’s, Brock, Bishop’s at 350; McMaster at 300). Some count pages instead of words (Windsor, OCAD U, Nipissing, Polytechnique). Quebec universities generally allow longer abstracts and set a range rather than a ceiling, often 150 to 250 words for a mémoire and 350 to 500 for a thèse. And 13 institutions publish no length at all, usually because the rule is delegated to the faculty or the program.

The practical consequence: do not reuse a number you heard from a colleague at another university.


Master table

Limits are per abstract. “Not published” means the official documents we verified state no university-wide length.

InstitutionProvinceMaster’sDoctoralLay abstractSecond-language abstractExcluded from the count
University of TorontoON150 words350 wordsNot publishedOnly if the thesis is in a third language (supplementary abstract of about 5,000 words)Heading block (title, name, degree, year, department, university)
University of WaterlooONNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNoNot specified
Western UniversityON150 words350 wordsNot publishedNoNot specified (keywords follow the abstract)
University of OttawaON150 words300 wordsNot publishedYes, English and French, except English Literature and Lettres françaisesNot specified
Toronto Metropolitan UniversityON150 words350 wordsNot publishedNoHeading info (title, degree, year, name, program, university)
Carleton UniversityON150 words350 wordsNot publishedNoNot specified
University of GuelphON150 words350 wordsNot publishedNoNot specified
Queen’s UniversityON350 words350 wordsOptional, 350 words maxNoNot specified
York UniversityON150 words350 wordsNot publishedNoNot specified
McMaster UniversityON300 words300 wordsYes, 150 words maxNoNot specified
University of WindsorON1 page2 pagesNot publishedNoPage limits, not word counts
Ontario Tech UniversityON150 words350 wordsNot publishedNoSingle page, no graphs, charts, tables or references; “strictly enforced”
Laurentian UniversityON150 words350 wordsNot publishedNo (a French thesis uses a French résumé, an English thesis an English abstract)No graphs, charts, illustrations or tables; keywords at the end
Brock UniversityON350 words350 wordsNot publishedNoNo graphs, charts, tables or illustrations; five keywords required
Wilfrid Laurier UniversityONNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNoSome departments set their own cap
Trent UniversityON150 words350 wordsNot publishedNoSeparate sheet headed ABSTRACT, plus title, author and keywords
Lakehead UniversityONNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNoExactly one abstract allowed
Nipissing UniversityON1 page1 pageNot publishedNoPage limit, not a word count
Royal Military CollegeONNo word limitNo word limitNot publishedYes, bilingual title page plus a French résuméNo formulas, diagrams, figures or references
OCAD UniversityON1 pageNot applicableNot publishedNoNo graphs, charts, tables, graphics, illustrations, references or citations
Saint Paul UniversityONCanon Law: not specifiedTheology summary: 350 wordsNot publishedYes for civil theses (uOttawa regime, English and French)Civil theses follow uOttawa: 150 master’s, 300 doctoral
Tyndale UniversityONAbout 200 words (roughly 1 page)Not applicableNot publishedNoNot specified
NOSM UniversityONNot published (rules on the staff intranet)Not applicableNot publishedNoNot specified
Algoma UniversityONNot publishedNot applicableNot publishedNoNot specified
Université de MontréalQC250 words max (1 page)500 words max (2 pages)Optional at the doctoral level, 500 wordsYes, English abstract and English keywords are mandatoryMaximum 10 keywords
McGill UniversityQC4,000 characters4,000 charactersNot publishedYes, English and French in every thesisText only: no images, special characters, chemical formulae or mathematical expressions
Concordia UniversityQC250 words max350 words maxNot publishedNoThe doctoral abstract also carries title, name, degree, university and year
Polytechnique MontréalQCUp to 3 pagesUp to 3 pagesNot publishedYes, an English abstract is mandatory; French summary of 7 to 10 pages optional for English manuscriptsNo references and no figures in the abstract
HEC MontréalQC150 to 250 words350 to 500 wordsNot publishedYes for the thesis, conditional for the mémoireMaximum 10 keywords (mémoire), 15 (thèse)
École de technologie supérieureQCAbout 250 words400 to 500 wordsNot publishedYes for mémoire and thèse (optional for project reports)4 or 5 keywords required
INRSQC150 to 200 words (ST), 150 to 250 (UCS)350 to 400 words (ST), 350 to 500 (UCS)Not publishedYes, French and English, plus a French recap summary if written in EnglishNo references, chemical equations or complex formulae
UQAMQCAbout 300 words600 to 700 wordsNot publishedSuggested, not required4 or 5 keywords required
ENAPQC150 to 250 words350 to 500 wordsNot publishedYes, French and English, both mandatory5 to 10 keywords in each language
Université TÉLUQQC500 words maxNot applicableNot publishedEnglish summary optionalSeparate page
UQTRQCNot published university-wideNot published university-wideNot publishedNo (a French abstract is required if the work is in another language)Rules delegated to each program committee
Bishop’s UniversityQC350 words maxNot applicableNot publishedNoKeywords must not be included
Université de SherbrookeQCNot published university-wideNot published university-wideNot publishedFaculty-dependentRules set at the faculty level
Université LavalQCNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedYes, doctoral theses require an English abstractNot specified
UQACQCNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNoNot specified
UQARQCNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNoNot specified
UQATQCNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNoNot specified
UQOQCNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNoNot specified
University of British ColumbiaBC350 words350 wordsYes, 150 words maxNoNot specified
Simon Fraser UniversityBC150 words350 wordsNot publishedNo (an English abstract is required if the thesis is in another language)Not specified; one page maximum, plain text only, no bullets, citations, footnotes or graphics
University of VictoriaBCNo fixed limit, about 250 words recommendedSame rule, no separate doctoral figureNot publishedNoNot specified
University of Northern British ColumbiaBC500 words500 wordsNot publishedNoNot specified
Royal Roads UniversityBC150 wordsNot published (doctoral handbooks behind a login)Not publishedNoNot specified
Trinity Western UniversityBC150 wordsNot publishedNot publishedNoNot specified; no tables, graphs or illustrations
Thompson Rivers UniversityBC150 words (one page maximum)Not applicableNot publishedNoNot specified
Vancouver Island UniversityBCNot publishedNot applicableNot publishedNoNot specified
University of the Fraser ValleyBC150 wordsNot applicableNot publishedNoNot specified
Emily Carr UniversityBC300 words (MFA handbook; the Writing Centre handout says 350)Not applicableNot publishedNoNot specified; no tables, graphs or images
Adler University, VancouverBC200 to 250 wordsNot publishedNot publishedNoNot specified

Counts: 53 institutions, 13 with no published abstract length, 10 on the exact 150 / 350 pattern.


Notable exceptions

uOttawa is 150 / 300, not 150 / 350. The doctoral cap is 50 words lower than the Ontario norm, and both abstracts (English and French) are mandatory whatever the language of the thesis. The only exemptions are English Literature and Lettres françaises.

McMaster runs two abstracts. A 300-word abstract at both levels, plus a mandatory lay abstract of 150 words maximum on its own page. A COVID-impact statement of 300 words and a three-minute multimedia abstract are optional.

Queen’s uses one cap for everyone. 350 words for a master’s thesis and for a doctoral one, plus an optional lay abstract of 350 words.

Windsor counts pages. One page for a master’s thesis or major paper, two pages for a doctoral dissertation. There is no word count to hit, which changes how you edit: font, spacing and margins now affect whether you comply.

McGill counts characters. 4,000 characters per abstract, text only, and both an English and a French abstract in every thesis regardless of the language it is written in. Students who count words here will overshoot or undershoot badly.

UdeM, Polytechnique and INRS require a second-language abstract. At Université de Montréal the English abstract and English keywords are a separate line on the verification checklist. At Polytechnique the English abstract is mandatory for a mémoire and a thèse. At INRS you owe a French résumé, an English abstract, and, if you wrote in English, a substantial French recap summary that is not the résumé.


What counts and what does not

Two universities say explicitly what is outside the count. The University of Toronto excludes the required heading block (title, name, degree, year, department, university), and Toronto Metropolitan excludes the same heading information. Everywhere else, assume the cap applies to the body text of the abstract and nothing else.

Keywords are the usual grey zone. Western, Ontario Tech, Laurentian, Brock and Trent all require a keyword list at the end of the abstract, and none of them says whether it counts. Treat it as outside the cap but keep a margin. Bishop’s is the opposite case and forbids keywords in the abstract entirely.

What is almost universally banned: graphs, charts, tables, illustrations, chemical formulae and mathematical expressions. Brock, Ontario Tech, Laurentian, OCAD U, RMC, INRS and McGill all say so in writing. OCAD U goes further and bans references and citations too.


Lay abstracts and second-language abstracts

A lay abstract is a plain-language summary aimed at a reader outside your field. Only four institutions in this table address one: McMaster requires it (150 words maximum, page iii), UBC requires a lay summary of 150 words maximum, Queen’s allows it as an option (350 words), and Université de Montréal allows an optional plain-language summary of 500 words at the doctoral level.

Second-language abstracts are far more common, and they are the single most missed requirement in Canadian thesis deposits. Ten institutions here require one: McGill, uOttawa, Saint Paul (civil theses), RMC, Université de Montréal, Polytechnique, HEC Montréal (thesis), INRS, ENAP and Université Laval (doctoral). Note that requiring one is not the same as requiring both directions. Laurentian, for instance, uses a French résumé for a French thesis and an English abstract for an English one, with no dual requirement.


Abstract layout constraints

Length is not the only rule attached to the abstract. Line spacing is frequently specified separately: the University of Toronto, Toronto Metropolitan, Brock and Trent all require the abstract to be double-spaced even where the body may be 1.5, while Western requires the abstract to match the body spacing exactly.

Position in the front matter is checked too. At the University of Toronto the abstract begins at page ii, at Concordia it is page iii, at McMaster it sits at page iv behind the descriptive note and the lay abstract, and at Windsor physical numbering starts at the declaration (iii) with the abstract at iv. McGill is the outlier that surprises people most: its Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies office places the table of contents before the abstracts, not after.

Several universities also cap the abstract at a single physical page on top of the word count, notably Ontario Tech and OCAD U.


Check before you deposit

Three questions, in this order. What is my institution’s cap, in words or characters or pages ? Do I owe a second abstract in another language, or a lay abstract ? And does my abstract contain anything on the banned list (a table, a formula, a citation, a keyword line I was not asked for) ?

If your university is one of the thirteen with no published length, ask your faculty or program committee in writing and keep the answer. A delegated rule is still a rule, and it is still checked at deposit.

Sources: U of T SGS formatting, Western Senate thesis procedures, uOttawa monograph components, Queen’s Standards for Graduate Theses, McMaster SGS Preparation Guide, Windsor thesis format checklist, McGill GPS preparation, UdeM Guide des mémoires et des thèses, Concordia Thesis Preparation Guide, INRS guide ST 2025, plus the official source linked in every table row. Knowledge base verification dates: Ontario 2026-07-02, Montreal area 2026-08, British Columbia 2026-09-03. Last verified: 2026-09-03.

Coverage note: the eleven British Columbia institutions were verified against their official pages on 2026-09-03. Vancouver Island University publishes no abstract length at all, and Royal Roads publishes its doctoral handbooks behind a login, so both are recorded as not published rather than guessed.